Recycle Bin Information


Hover your mouse over "About..." for a menu

When you delete a file in Windows Explorer or My Computer, the file appears in the Recycle Bin. The file remains in the Recycle Bin until you empty the bin or restore the file.
Older files are also removed from the Recycle Bin if you delete additional files and the Recycle Bin exceeds the maximum size allocated in Recycle Bin Properties. The oldest files will be deleted first.

Each hard disk contains a hidden folder named Recycled. This folder contains files deleted in Windows Explorer or My Computer, or in Windows- based programs. When you delete a file, the complete path and file name is stored in a hidden file called Info or Info2 (Windows 98) in the Recycled folder. The deleted file is renamed, using the following syntax:

    D[original drive letter of file][#].[original extension]

Each hard disk contains a hidden folder named Recycled. This folder contains files deleted in Windows Explorer or My Computer, or in Windows- based programs.

Examples:
New file namC:

Dc1.txt = (C drive, second file deleted, a .txt file)

INFO file path:

C:\Windows\Desktop\Books.txt

 

New file namC:

De7.doc = (E drive, eighth file deleted, a .doc file)

INFO file path:

C:\Winword\Letter to Rosemary.doc

Each drive has a Recycled folder. Files deleted from compliant programs are moved to the Recycled folder on the drive from which they are deleted. Double-clicking the Recycle Bin icon displays the folder listing of deleted files available for restoration.
Clicking a file and choosing Restore causes the original path to be read from the INFO file, and the file to be renamed and restored to its original path.

For general information about the Recycle Bin, see the following page.

How the Recycle Bin Stores Files [136517]
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;136517